Choosing the Right People

Standard

So you have this dream. This great dream to do something great. But you know you cant do this dream alone, it is going to take a lot of work and you will need to bring on a team of people to get it done. So you look high and low for people you can pull into this dream, some of them you’ve known for a while and some you just met.

You’re cautious though, you don’t want your dream to be sabotaged so you bring them in slowly and trust begins to build and things start to happen and you get really excited. Then boom. One of your people betrays your trust and lets you down and now you are trying to pick up the pieces and save face. You’re so angry and hurt that you could throw something.

What do you do?

I’ve had more people walk out on me in projects than I can remember. I’ve had people let into my dream that said one thing to my face and another behind my back. I’ve seen friends who had opportunities stolen and dreams messed up due a team members lack of integrity. I’ve even worked on projects where I helped push someone’s dream only for them to suddenly leave and the dream with them.

So how do we choose then? How do we weed out the good from the bad?

Honestly, we don’t. Sure you have the initial screening process you always do and sure there will be some people who show immediate red flags, but that is as far as it goes. Sure you could read books about the subject and have rigorous screenings and constantly check up on them, but ultimately you don’t know what truly lies in the heart of a person.

So what do you do?

And no, saying that you will just do it all on your own is not an option, trust me I tried it, worked for about two seconds. And no, being depressed about it doesn’t help either. Neither does giving up your dream.

What I’ve done and what I’ve always done is chosen people to the best of my abilities and when then have let me down I get angry, deal with it, and move on. Yep that is it. You’re welcome.

Seriously though people will let you down. It is a sad fact of life but not one that you have to let it get in your way. Don’t let it get in your way. Eventually you will find the right people again and again and as long as you keep moving things will keep falling into place.

Leave a Reply

