Currently Reading: You Can’t Fire Everyone

Standard

In this book Hank Gilman, the former Deputy Managing Editor at Fortune, talks about his rise in management and how it was kind of just thrust upon him. He talks of all the mistakes and lessons he has learned since then.

What initially drew me to the book was the title and the cover art both very catchy and of course it is short, which is good because I don’t always have the longest attention span.

In this books he talks about dealing with employees in regards to how you aren’t their friend but their boss, hiring and firing, and dealing with a mess up or crisis.

One of the biggest parts that stood out to me was: Never worry about being fired yourself. This kind of just stuck with me. So many times I held myself back because I was afraid of losing my job and therefore I was taking any of the necessary risks that I should have.

I think the worst thing you can do as a manager is be afraid of being fired. You would never do the things I suggested… if you worried about being fired.

Another aspect was just treating employees fairly; not lying to them, or underestimating them, giving them a chance to grow, and allowing them to put family first.

For the most part the book had a lot of good points when it comes to management and leadership. On the other hand though it was very heavily laden with journalistic examples and jargon, and sometimes conclusions wouldn’t make sense and what the author was trying to convey didn’t come through.

Overall I found this to be an informative book and good for those who have become managers but really don’t know how to be one.

…no matter what what your management style, it will work if you do it well, are honest, treat your employees with respect, and are consistent.

Leave a Reply

