Trying New Foods: Kale Chips and Seaweed

Standard

So recently I’ve been into trying new foods. Mainly this is for substituting things that I eat all the time that aren’t that great for me. The big thing is chips. I am all about my Cheetos, BBQ, and sour cream and onion chips. I eat a lot of chips and it’s just an easy thing to grab when you want to add side dish or are just looking to snack but not wanting to create a big meal. But of course they are not good for you. Not even Sun Chips which I love. Chips are high in sodium and fat and have very little or no nutritional value.

So what I found so far to substituteĀ are Kale chips or dried seaweed. I’m sure if you are an a health kick you’ve heard all about kale, it’s everywhere. However this was my first introduction to it. This was the brand I tried:

2014-09-03 19.38.43It had a good flavor to it and I was fine eating it on its own. Eating it with a sandwich was kind of weird but I could get used to it. The only thing is I wasn’t how sure if it would hold up if I took it to work since it is in a tight container and not sure if moisture would seep in.

As for the seaweed I tried it in two forms: dried and seaweed salad. Seaweed is very nutritional and high in vitamins. The dried seaweed was mostly for a chip/snack substitute. I tried it in wasabi and sesame flavors. The wasabi I liked the most since it had a kick to it. However on the other side I tried making seaweed salad and although it came out correctly I ate some at first but then couldn’t take how slimy it was. So I think I will stick to the dried version until I can figure out a better way to cook it.

 

Leave a Reply

