Legacy

Standard

One of the great women in my life passed away on Sunday, today was her funeral. Every moment she was in my thoughts one word kept reverberating in my head, legacy. Legacy is the testimony to the life we led, to the life we have left behind. Her legacy was one of love and steadfastness.

Every time I saw her she alway greeted me with a tight hug and a smile. She always asked how I was doing, gave me a word of encouragement, and prayed with me when I needed it. She had a sharp wit and a steady strength. She was small in body and always wore those high fashionable heels, but you knew she would always tell it like it is and never hold back. And when you were down she would just love on you without hesitation.

That was her legacy. It was a legacy of love, of strength, of “nothing is too hard for my God”, it is what I remember about her the most, it is what she has left me.

You see in the end your legacy isn’t about you. In the end your legacy becomes about those who were around you and what you left to them. You can spend your whole life thinking it is all about you and you alone and subsequently your legacy will be left to no one, for who will have it? But if you give yourself to others piece by piece in the end you find that you’re never really gone because those pieces you gave continue to live in those you gave them to.

Thank you for your legacy and the piece you gave to me.

Leave a Reply

