The Company You Keep

Standard

I remember when I was in the eighth grade and I was miserable a lot. I constantly had issues with self-esteem and my worth. It wasn’t until a certain incident of “he said, she said” that I realized it was due to the friends that I had at school. I suddenly took stock of who exactly they were to me and decided whatever we had wasn’t enough so we stopped being friends. I found new friends and things got a lot better.

I can look back and see all the ways I was influenced by the friends I have made again and again but that was the first time I remember taking a stand realizing that was not the kind of influences I wanted to have.

Where we are and were we are going are indicative of the people we keep around us.

I am grateful to the friends I have around me today to push me and grow with me. I am grateful to the mentors who have come along the way. And I am especially grateful for knowing when to move apart from someone, even if they have good intentions.

As you seek to grow be careful of those you keep around you and the things they speak into your life. Surround yourself with people who will encourage you, teach you, and push you to grow. Know that as you move up you can’t always bring everyone with you and that that’s okay.

Listen to your inner voice. You know when someone isn’t good for you or when things look good but don’t quite match up. Even when you can’t ignore interactions with the person, like a family member, acknowledge them, be polite, and keep it short. People will come in and out of your life all the time but when they leave what will the leave with you?

Beware the company you keep aren’t trying to keep you back.

Leave a Reply

